Windows 10 October 2018 Update Rollout Pause After Deleting Microsoft Files

April 3, 2022 0 Comments

Users who have upgraded to Windows 10 October 2018 are advised to contact Microsoft and those who have downloaded the update file manually should stop installing it.

Microsoft announced the new Windows 10 October update during its Surface launch event, and last week, it began rolling out to users worldwide. However, the company has now pulled out the Windows 10 October update because users have reported that their videos, photos and more have been deleted after updating with their user profile. The company has now acknowledged the matter and said on its support site, “We have stopped the rollout of the Windows 10 October 2018 update (version 1809) for all users because we are investigating isolated reports of users losing some files after the update.”

Those affected are advised to contact Microsoft directly, and if anyone has downloaded the October update manually, the company recommends not installing it and waiting until new media is available. In addition to the problem with deleted files, some users have complained that Microsoft Edge and other Windows Store apps did not connect to the Internet after the update.

Users whose profiles have been deleted can try a temporary solution to get them back. To do this, one needs to search gpedit.msc or edit the group policy in the Start menu search bar and select the best match to find a collection of settings called Group Policy Object (GPO). Then go to “Computer Configuration / Administrative Templates / System / User Profile / Delete User Profile Older Than Specified Number of System Restart”. This setting must be disabled or set to “not configured”.

The Windows 10 October 2018 update brings new apps and features like “Your Phone” that enable users to access photos and text from their Android phones on their computers. Microsoft Office 365, To-Do and Outlook.com have some new additions. You can read more about the update here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.